Getting My Geek On

I’ve mentioned Dr. Llama’s Geek Along before with no actual geeking occurring. No more!

In preparation for this long term project that I walked into halfway to done, I created a spreadsheet (because sometimes I am organized) and went through all the available squares and determined which are on my MUST MAKE list and which are on my Probably Should Make list. Then I added the yarn colors I wanted to use to make each square. Then I looked at my stash and laughed because the only solid colors I have are in sock and lace yarns. I went online found a yarn that would work and ordered up all the colors I would need for my MUST list of squares.

image

I managed to hit a sale and ordered the biggest box of yarn to arrive at my door. It’s a selection of colors in Wool of the Andes which was on super cheap at the time. Then I cast on my first square.

image

I went a bit rebel and decided to cast on an alternate square first. The Portal Companion Cube. Why? Because like Cartman, I do what I want! Also, I think the Companion Cubes are adorable.

The knitting gods apparently didn’t appreciate my decision, though, as I had to recast this sucker twice. I’ve also got a mis-stitch right below the heart now that I’ve decided I can live with more than I can live with frogging it again. I’m hoping all the double knitting I’ve got planned for the future helps my speed because I am sloooooooooow right now. Also having two balls of yarn makes this terrible for transit knitting so I’m only working on this at home. After the Liu Children have gone to sleep. So mostly during The Daily Show and The Colbert Report. After I’ve finishing raiding other towns in The Simpsons Tapped Out. Because priorities.

The square is going to be larger than I originally believed. Based on what I don’t know since the introduction post clearly indicates that each square will be 10in x 10in. But the final blanket if one completed all 48 squares will be of a good size. I don’t think I’m going to complete all of the squares. I’m aiming for an afgan but might end up with a baby blanket. We shall see!

About mesha

Hi! I love cats and I love yarn. Knitting and kitties are two of my favorite things!
This entry was posted in Knit Along, Stash, WIP, Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment