As You Wish

BabyLiu had decided that she wanted a hearts birthday. This would have been super easy if she had been born in February, but I’m not that lucky. One Sunday before her birthday, BabyLiu pulled a ball of yarn off my shelf and said “Mommy, make a heart for me. For my birthday!” I said okay, give me a minute to find a pattern.

The yarn BabyLiu had pulled off the shelf was a remnant of a ball of Sugar n Cream in Summer Splash. Since she had selected a cotton yarn well known for it’s dishcloth-ness I selected a heart shaped dishcloth. It’s a pretty simple pattern so I ran through it quickly. Until this:

image

That, my friends, is a yarn tail. A tail two rows from completion. After cursing the yarn gods, I took a dive in my stash to see what I could find. I was reasonably certain I had a ball of solid green that matched. But I found something even better:

image

A GIANT skein of the exact same color! And once again my well stocked stash pays off. The heart was completed!

image

BabyLiu loved it! Loved it so much so that every day that week she pulled a new ball of yarn off the shelf and asked for another heart. She would say “Make a heart for my birthday from this. Knit on the bus! Where are your sticks?” My girl apparently has a fondness for cotton yarn. I suspect this is because the mohair is above her line of sight. So I did as instructed. I knit her hearts.

image

At the end I had eight hearts (my sister snagged a purple one while she was visiting) and a happy girl.

About mesha

Hi! I love cats and I love yarn. Knitting and kitties are two of my favorite things!
This entry was posted in Baby, FO, Holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

