Oh Christmas Walrus

Anyone who knows me knows I’m easily distracted by shiny objects. I remember once Mr  Liu and I were talking outside while BabyLiu was in her swimming class and I literally stopped mid-sentence to yell “Hey! A squirrel!” Knowing this about me, I’m sure it will come as no surprise that rather than continue along my very well planned out holiday gift knitting spree I dropped everything when I got a pattern update in my inbox from Mochimochiland because OMG CHRISTMAS WALRUSES! WITH HATS!!!

I cast one on so quickly I could almost hear my WIPs sigh. I had three by the end of the week.

image

The walruses are supposed to be palm sized, but wanted something more wee, so  I knit them up using the Lion Brand Bonbons I had on hand. I knit three walruses and had a Criminal Minds sewing up party (me plus two cats counts as a party, right?) Friday night.

image

While I was sewing the parts together, I realized why I love the Mochimochiland tiny patterns so much. Very little finishing. But they came together pretty well, I think.

image

Because I spent so much time sewing them up, I wasn’t able to give them all hats. I gave the purple one a wee wreath I knit up from this pattern, also using bonbons. The tiny minion was knit from this pattern. He was a fantastic little knit. His Santa hat is a modification of the walrus’s. The little blue guy will get the earflap hat but BabyLiu is insistent that the hat needs a pompom and I’m not quite sure how to go about making such a small pompom. So he’s hatless for the time being.

One of the recipients commented that she didn’t know she needed a Christmas Walrus before she got one. That’s kind of how I felt when I first saw the pattern.

 

But I do know I need a Christmas squid.

About mesha

Hi! I love cats and I love yarn. Knitting and kitties are two of my favorite things!
This entry was posted in FO, gift knitting, Holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

