Double Knitting

The Geek A Long I mentioned last post is a blanket that will be double knit. That way there are two “right” sides to look at and you get to tuck the ends in between the fabric. Basically, double knitting is nothing but win. I have never done any double knitting, so I decided I needed to give it a go before I started on the real deal to prevent it from mysteriously flying across the room. Fortunately, Dr Llama has a tutorial and a quick bookmark pattern for just such a purpose. I snagged two balls of Mission Falls 1824 from the stash, one black and one white. This is a technique that doesn’t really work with similar colors.

Like most knitting techniques I’ve learned over the years, double knitting is way easier than I thought it would be (I’m looking at you sock and mittens!). It’s neat in that you have two “right” sides that are the inverse of each other.

image

Although showing that in a photograph on such a small item is kind of hard.

image

You’re going to have to believe me.

The finished product is double the thickness of your chosen yarn worked singly. This will create a nice, warm blanket. Full of geek.

Now if my Knit Picks shipment would arrive so I could get started…

About mesha

Hi! I love cats and I love yarn. Knitting and kitties are two of my favorite things!
This entry was posted in FO, Technique, Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

