Orange Vanilla Curd

This weekend was jam packed with makings. Yesterday I made yogurt (which is to say, I made milk hot, cooled it off and then ignored it for the rest of the day), I’ve got banana ice cream churning right now and Mr Liu made the first pasta sauce of tomato season. Not to mention my secret knitting project (don’t want to ruin the surprise). All the while BabyLiu has been perfecting the art of the monochromatic portrait. She has an affinity for the blue crayon for some reason.

Most interesting to me is the Orange Vanilla Curd I made from Food In Jars book which cleverly has the same name. It required a double boiler, which I don’t have. So I rigged one up.

image

Not pretty, but it was effective. The curd smelled divine while it cooked. The entire kitchen was citrus fresh. Until the red sauce started cooking, at least.

image

I tried some while I was filtering the zest out and it was divine. Like a melted orange creamsicle. Yum. And it’s even the right consistancy. Everyone agreed it was delicious.

image

Now we just need to get something besides spoons to eat it from.

About mesha

Hi! I love cats and I love yarn. Knitting and kitties are two of my favorite things!
This entry was posted in Jam, non-yarn craft. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

