The Yarn Harlot Speaks

As I mentioned yesterday, I went to A Verb for Keeping Warm to see the Stephanie Pearl-McPhee, the Yarn Harlot speak.  There were a ton of knitters there. The Actual Cafe next door to AVFKW was completely overrun by people with sticks and string. I was kind of wonderful.

image

I had a mini-bonding moment with a couple over the awesomeness of having a last name in the L-Z line. Because there was no line. Awesome.

When Stephanie came out she gave a talk called “Your Brain on Knitting” which was interesting and completely hilarious. She’s a rather small woman, so it was hard to get a good shot of her while speaking. At one point she said she’s tired of having relationships with men’s nipples.

image

Afterward, Stephanie signed many, many books and took many, many pictures. I was way toward the end of the line and she was still completely charming by the time I got to her.

image

When I had my turn, I mentioned that I was probably the only knitter who had showed up to a knitting event without a project to work on. (BabyLiu decided that she needed to go with me. Getting out of the house was a might challenging and my knitting isn’t in it’s normal place, still.) She asked if I was feeling OK and suggested I get some yarn to tide me over. So I did.

image

AVFKW’s Metamorphosis in Tide Pools. (Ignore the arm of the sofa. Kali does not care for our furnishings.)

About mesha

Hi! I love cats and I love yarn. Knitting and kitties are two of my favorite things!
This entry was posted in books, class, Fan Girl, Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

