Impromptu Shawl

A while back I came down with a terrible case if Startitis. Regardless of the fact that I always have a WIP or five languishing around the house, I had nothing to knit. Absolutely nothing. I decided I needed something new. Since it was also around 8pm when this urge to create hit, I had to make due with what I had on hand. I dug up some deliciously soft recycled silk yarn I picked up off if eBay ages ago and a shawl pattern from Your Knitting Life and combined them.

Β 

I cast on and started something new. And promptly jacked it up.

See those yarn overs? They should line up. In a line. A straight one. I realized my screw up pretty early on, but I decided to live with it and not frog back and correct the error. This recycled silk has mohair-like properties. It’s practically glue once it’s knit. The couple of times I have frogged this stuff it drifts apart from itself like cotton candy. So I’m living with the mistake.

I’m also living with a half finished shawl (half is probably overly generous) since I’ve thrown it to the side in favor of my KAL shawl. I’m going to be waist deep in unfinished shawls here in a minute. It’s extra funny since I don’t wear shawls or know anyone who does.

About mesha

Hi! I love cats and I love yarn. Knitting and kitties are two of my favorite things!
This entry was posted in frogged, magazine, Project, Stash, WIP. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Impromptu Shawl

  1. Wawa says:

    Shawls are nice for overly air-conditioned offices.

  2. mesha says:

    My office is always overly warm. Sweaty warm. I’ll send you one of mine to keep you toasty. Assuming I ever finish one. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

