It’s Like She Knows

Remember how I said my nephew wanted a moose hat? Yeah. I haven’t found a knit pattern for one I like. I did find a crochet one on Ravelry that would perfect… if I had the ability to execute it. And I believe we have established (over and over, I might add) that I do not. Since the moose was a bust, I set out to find another hat that would amuse my favorite five year old. Turns out I didn’t have to look very hard. The answer arrived right at my front door.

The answer was in the latest issue of Your Knitting Life. I subscribed to this magazine a while back during a Groupon deal. I renewed because they did a series of blanket squares with the alphabet and monkeys and I really, really wanted the whole series. Anyone who knows me will tell you I like things in matching sets. I’ve been known to sell back a series of books and then rebuy the whole series just to make all of the covers match. I have two box sets of the Simpsons that are in the character shapes instead of the regular boxes and they drive.me.crazy. I have to keep that side of the DVD case facing the wall or I stare at them, willing them to match. CRAZY.

Back to the hat.

This issue has a fish hat. The open mouth goes around your head and it looks like it’s trying to swallow you. The only thing that would be better is a shark hat. Which, now that I’m thinking about it, probably wouldn’t be that hard of a modification. Hmmm. I’ll have to come back to that.

I’m using Red Heart Soft in Teal and Turquoise. So far the pattern is coming together nicely. Kali has been all up in the knitting. It’s like she knows that it’s going to be a fish.

image

About mesha

Hi! I love cats and I love yarn. Knitting and kitties are two of my favorite things!
This entry was posted in cats, gift knitting, magazine, WIP. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

