Instant Rugged

Mr. Liu’s nephew turns 5 today. He specifically requested for a moose hat for this birthday. He saw some moose during his summer vacation last year and apparently they left a lasting impression.

That didn’t happen.

I’ll get one knit up for him. Eventually. There are three cousin’s in Mr. Liu’s family I owe hats to. He’s my favorite (shhhhh), so his moose hat is at the top of my list.

I was able to knit something I found highly amusing, though. I knit him a beard.

This is Beardo. I knit it up in Patons Classic Wool in chestnut. It’s a slightly less bulky yarn than what the pattern calls for, but since it’s for a five year old face, I figure it’s okay if it comes out a little smaller. The beard knit up super easy. I had more trouble with the mustache. One side kept coming out wider than the other. I knit it up at least three times. Even with the repeated stashe attempts, this was still a really quick knit.

Here’s how it works: You simply loop the I-cord around your ears and BOOM! You can make anyone look like a lumberjack.

Instant rugged.

About mesha

Hi! I love cats and I love yarn. Knitting and kitties are two of my favorite things!
This entry was posted in FO, gift knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Instant Rugged

  1. Pingback: It’s Like She Knows « Knitting & Kitties

Leave a Reply

