Cozy Coffee

For the most part my hippy self tries to take a reusable cup with me to Peets, but it doesn’t always work out like that. For the times that I don’t have a cup on my person but I need a coffee fix to keep my pleasant demenor, I keep a couple of the cardboard sleeves you get in my purse (and in the stroller and in the diaper bag…. Mr. Liu and I drink a log of coffee.) I figure if even if saves resources, if only a teeny bit. (They also are wonderful distractions for BabyLiu when we’re out. She wears them like Wonder Woman’s power bracelets.) Since I keep the cardboard sleeves until they won’t hold together any more, it seemed like a reasonable step to knit a more permanent one.

image

This is knit up using the Knot Ribbon Coffee Sweater pattern, minus the ribbon. I knit it using Full o’ Sheep yarn in aquamarine, which is a lovely, inexpensive single ply wool. I love the way the knotted pattern looks in this yarn. It works wonderfully as a coffee cozy, better than the cardboard sleeves. Since it’s thicker and wool is a better insulator than cardboard, I suppose that’s not totally surprising.

I’m going to have to still keep the cardboard sleeves in my purse, though. There’s no way Mr. Liu is going to walk around with a brightly colored knitted coffee cozy.

About mesha

Hi! I love cats and I love yarn. Knitting and kitties are two of my favorite things!
This entry was posted in FO. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

