Overestimate, Underestimate

I have a really bad habit of overestimating the time I have to knit a gift and underestimating how long it will take me to knit said gift. It’s twice as bad for baby gifts. Babies seem like such tiny little things, all itty and bitty. When you’re knitting for a baby you can’t let their relative ittiness fool you. Especially their heads. Baby heads are freaking huge considering how small babies are. Ask anyone who birthed one. Or maybe don’t. Likely you’ll also be regaled with all the dirty deets of expelling said giant head from a fairly small exit.

Back on topic, I originally planed to make the Cranky Baby Mitts and Legwarmers for the baby shower I’m attending on Saturday (THIS Saturday!). I knit the mitts in the newborn size using Felici Fingering in Moonlit. I’m unconvinced they will fit an actual human being, no matter how small said human being starts off.

 

And for scale, the Tiny Santa Trio lends a beard:

 

On Monday I realized that the likelyhood of me knitting up the legwarmers in the time allotted was nearly nil. (BabyLiu, while completely adorable, is a totally knitting buzzkill. She’s very helpful. Unfortuantely, she’s helpful in exactly the way Darkness and Kali are helpful with yarn. She’s an Olypmic-class yarn tangler.) So I opted to knit a quick hat and add an IOU for the legwarmers.

 

The hat, which you can see is still not done, is a super simple rolled brim stockinette hat in Mochi Plus in Berry Compote, I think. I’m almost ready to decrease for the crown, so this at least has a prayer of being done in time.

Wish me luck.

About mesha

Hi! I love cats and I love yarn. Knitting and kitties are two of my favorite things!
This entry was posted in deadlines, gift knitting, Project. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

