WANTED: Knit Chicken Pattern

I need a knit chicken pattern. Bad.

BabyLiu occasionally watches Sprout in the mornings (don’t judge me, there’s very little I’m coherent enough to do at 6am and entertain a baby is one of those things).  Since we blessedly have an East Coast feed, at we get the Sunny Side Up Show while the West Coast is watching the Wiggly Waffle (shudders). This is the star of the Sunny Side Up Show:

That adorable little puppet is Chica the Chicken. When Chica talks she squeaks (either that or someone’s talking in a kazoo, I’m not entirely sure). Chica’s squeak always catches BabyLiu’s attention. She’ll even stop trying to pet Darkness and Kali – which she does with single minded focus – to watch Chica on the screen.

Sprout is a PBS channel and despite PBS always needing money, they don’t sell any merchandise. Which is a pity because I think they could make a small fortune off of Chica and Starry toys (Starry is on the Good Night Show, which is way lame).

In any case, I googled around because people are both crafty and entrepreneurial, and I found this but as good as this doll is (and it’s really, really good), I’m not sure I want to shell out $65 bones for it. (Though if you want to buy one for BabyLiu, please feel free!)  Then I wondered if I could knit one up.

I probably can, but there’s no Chica pattern out there and the only patterns I can create off the top of my head are for things that I’m familiar with. Socks, hats, scarves. I’ve never created a toy out of thin air and I wouldn’t know where to start. But I maybe, just maybe I can alter a pattern if the starting point is close to what I want.

So, know of any good chicken patterns?

 

About mesha

Hi! I love cats and I love yarn. Knitting and kitties are two of my favorite things!
This entry was posted in Baby, gift knitting, Patterns. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to WANTED: Knit Chicken Pattern

  1. Angie says:

    on Rav there is Spring Chicken by Jacqui Turner. los of mods there, buy this Chicken Chicken Chicken by Emily Ivey. again mods, this gal did maybe still dose an Chica http://oddolls.net/id202.html
    good luck in find one…

  2. meshaliu says:

    That pattern is PERFECT! Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

