My First Yarn

imageToday was my drop spindle class at a Verb For Keeping Warm

That six-inch strand of yarn is the first bit of yarn I ever spun. Isn’t it lovely and uniform? That teeny bit of yarn was made with nothing but roving and the friction of rubbing it against my jean clad leg. While this bit of yarn is practically perfect, I’d have to be naked in Iceland in winter before I considered making any more in that manner. Total PITA. And you get fleece all over your pants. If you do it, make sure you match your roving to your outfit.

 

 

 

Wanna see what I spun up with my spindle?

imageNo where NEAR as uniform.

Despite this being a skill that children are quite successful at in other parts of the world, this shit is hard! And people who can do it (like the instructor – Wonder Mike)  make it look So. Freaking. Easy. And then he started talking all this crazy physics to explain how it worked. Again, a hobby I’m working on makes me wish I’d studied math harder in school.

This first attempt at spinning with a drop spindle isn’t completely unsuccessful. I mean, I didn’t break the yarn I was spinning. That’s something. Hopefully, I’ll be able to get it off of the spindle. Our homework is to spin for 15 minutes a night for the next two weeks. After which our gorgeous two ounces of Blue Faced Leicester should be spun into singles and ready for the plying class.

Wish me luck!

 

About mesha

Hi! I love cats and I love yarn. Knitting and kitties are two of my favorite things!
This entry was posted in class, spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My First Yarn

  1. Wawa says:

    Woohoo! I too have a drop spindle that has sat unused and unloved for years now. I managed to get about 12 inches of blobby lumpy yarn onto it after watching youtube videos for a while, but I think I need to follow your lead and just take a darn class.

  2. julie says:

    looks great! you have to show me how this works at some point…

Leave a Reply

