Baby’s First Handknit

I started on Baby Liu’s first hand knit. Well, it will be the first item intentionally knit for the baby. I still have Kali’s 5 Hour Baby Sweater that Baby Liu will undoubtedly wear at some point.

I’m knitting up the OpArt blanket from Knitty.com. It’s knit up in Mission Falls 136 Merino Superwash in natural and raven. It’s a beautifully soft yarn and the blanket is nice and toasty on my lap.

I think it looks pretty cool so far:

I’m a little further along than the picture shows. I’ve actually gone from the single circular need to knitting in the round on two circulars. Of course, I had no idea how to do this since I lurve my dpns. Cat Bordhi has a great video on Youtube that explains it, though.

As nifty as the blanket is, I’m making the small version. Why, you ask? Because it’s booorrriiing to knit up. This sucker is entirely in garter stitch. If it weren’t for the 4 stitch increase on each round to keep me awake, the blankie would be saturated with my tears by now. I hope Baby Liu appreciates what I went through for this and doesn’t throw up on it.

On Thursday, Mr. Liu and I go in for our “big” ultrasound. If Baby Liu is feeling cooperative, we should find out if he’s a he or she’s a she.  Then maybe my baby knitting can get interesting!

About mesha

Hi! I love cats and I love yarn. Knitting and kitties are two of my favorite things!
This entry was posted in Baby, WIP. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

