Please Explain This

I finished the Alphamitts for Mr. Liu’s nephew. They turned out well, except for this:

 

How is it that I used exactly the same yarn, exactly the same needles and knit exactly the same number of rounds and the mittens came out to be two completely different sizes?!? How does that even work?

So what I do is pick up the same yarn, needles and pattern and knit a  third mitten and pray it doesn’t turn out to be some crazy different size. I managed to get lucky:

 

I got a mitten that matched the bigger of the two mittens. So now I have a pair and a too small spare. I want to knit another to match the little guy, but I’m not quite sure how it happened, so I’m not certain it’s a reproducible result. Maybe if I drop a needle size? What do you think?

About mesha

Hi! I love cats and I love yarn. Knitting and kitties are two of my favorite things!
This entry was posted in FO. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Please Explain This

  1. jessa says:

    That is crazy! are you sure you didn’t accidentally pick up the wrong needle size on #2? that’s the only think I could think of that would make such a big difference.

  2. meshaliu says:

    I had all the stuff out from the first mitten in a little bag. I’m sure I didn’t pick up a different needle size. It’s boggling!

Leave a Reply

