Knitting With Wire

I took a class at K2Tog a couple of weeks back called knitting with wire. I’ve seen some knitted wire jewelry in the odd knitting magazine and on etsy, so I was really interested to take the course. We were provided with wire and some stone chips with which to knit.  I made a bracelet and a pair of earrings:

 

Both are done up in garter stitch. The bracelet was pretty easy to work. I basically made a flat piece and added my faux-turquoise bits at pleasing spots. When it got long enough for me to slide over the biggest part of my hand I just kind of wove the end of the wire to connect the ends of the bracelet. No binding off required. The hardest part of this was figuring out how to hold the wire. You can’t tension it like you do wool (or need to, really) and if you unwind too much it gets all bendy and weak in spots. 

The earrings are still missing their fish hooks because I’ve been stuck at work late every night this week  (and will be for every forseeable night for the next three weeks!) and haven’t gotten those little split circles so the earring doesn’t hang all funky. They were difficult for such tiny little things! Decreasing with wire is not for the faint of heart or weak of hand. Especially if you’re having trouble knitting loosely. Knitting loosely seems to be one of the keys when it comes to knitting with wire. Alas, I’ve spent so much time learning to pull my yarn tighter that knitting loosely is really challenging!

About mesha

Hi! I love cats and I love yarn. Knitting and kitties are two of my favorite things!
This entry was posted in FO, Technique. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

