Look What I Can Do!

Check out my new skill. All the cool knitters are doing it!

two handed knitting

Two handed knitting! I picked that up at the Fair Isle class I went to at K2Tog on Tuesday. I’ve been trying to teach myself to knit with my left (or “dumb”, as I like to call it) hand for some time now with little success. I still have no real rhythm when I’m knitting with my left hand, but the stitches come off the needle right, which is more than I could say on Monday. I’ve made quite a bit of progress on my little Fair Isle hat:

in progress fair isle fair isle floats

The class on Tuesday was great! I learned a ton. The bit I was most interested in after learning to knit with my dumb hand, was how the hell do people knit mittens with floats small enough that their fingers don’t get stuck in them. That was near the top of the list because it directly relates to a project I want to knit for xmas. There is a really clever way to trap the floats down so they’re shorter on the wrong side of the work. I haven’t used it much on the hat, as you can see, partly because the repeats are pretty short, but mostly because it’s a hat and hair isn’t that prone to getting stuck in yarn. At least non-cat hair isn’t.

Probably the nifftiest piece of information I walked away with was the idea of “yarn dominance.” Apparently, whichever yarn you hold in your left hand will be the color that pops the most. The teacher had some swatches where she switched which yarn was in which hand halfway through and you could absolutely see there was something different about it. One swatch just looked a little off, kind of like someone had used a different dye lot part of the way through it. You couldn’t quite put your finger on it. With the other swatch was more obvious. Half looked like blue dots on a pink background, the other half looked like pink dots on a blue background. She was saying that the phenomenon also happens with machine knit items, so it’s totally a mechanics thing, not a human error thing. The lesson here, don’t switch hands and put your pattern color in your left hand.

All in all, I totally recommend this class. Actually, all the classes I’ve taken at K2Tog have been great. If you’re in the area, you should go!

About mesha

Hi! I love cats and I love yarn. Knitting and kitties are two of my favorite things!
This entry was posted in Technique, WIP. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Look What I Can Do!

  1. jessa says:

    well color me impressed =)

Leave a Reply

