It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year

October is here and I’m loving every second of it! Why? Halloween, baby! Best holiday evah. I’d love to know whose bright idea it was to put Halloween a mere two months before Christmas? I can’t even think about my Christmas knitting right now (and just what I have vaguely planned in my head is a wee bit overwhelming). It’s almost Halloween! This is all I can think to knit:

pumpkin patch

Yup, I knit up a whole pumpkin patch. Most of those guys were given away to friends, as a reminder that both knitting and Halloween are awesome. Which means I need to knit more to decorate Casa de Liu. Yay! The tiny pumpkins are the same pattern I used last year and can be found here.  Super simple pattern, basically just a ribbed tube with stuffing and a face. Darkness has been rather taken with these guys (they’ve ended up under the sofa a couple of times), so I think I’m going to knit up a small catnip one just for him.

That little guy hanging upside down is what yesterdays pieces are all sewed up. He’s Boo the Batfrom the Mochimochi Land shop. The knit pattern for him was pretty simple, though I seriously messed his second wing up somehow, it’s waaaay bigger than the first. He still came together alright, though. (Yes, I’m totally that knitter that can live with that sort of error if, in the immortal words of Tim Gunn, I can make it work.) I think he needs a girlfriend. He looks lonely.

Those guys are all sitting in front of a delicious bottle of  Blue Moon Harvest Moon Pumpkin Ale. It will soon be joined by Buffalo Bill’s Pumpkin Ale and New Belgium’s Hoptoberfest. See? October is the bestest!

In my Halloween-y excitement, I also knit up a hat for Mr. Liu’s little nephew:

pumpkin hat

It’s going to look adorable on a three year old. Of course, it looks adorable on at thirty year old as well. I’m a little worried it will be too big for him, but I also routinely underestimate how big anyone’s head is. We’ll see, I suppose.

I think I need to knit up more of those eyeballs. And some ghosts. I wonder if there’s a knit skeleton pattern out there, hmmmm…

About mesha

Hi! I love cats and I love yarn. Knitting and kitties are two of my favorite things!
This entry was posted in FO, gift knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year

  1. Anna says:

    A very cute Boo indeed! (Love his button.) The pumpkin patch is awesome too. All the different expressions are great!

  2. Pingback: I’m Such a Fan Girl « Knitting & Kitties

Leave a Reply

