Over Estimate, Under Estimate

Last Sunday Mr. Liu and I drove down to Fresno for the day. My youngest sister was has some serious drama going on in her life right now and I needed to physically see her to prove to myself she was okay, or at least mostly okay. As with any long car trip, I brought some knitting.

Now, before we hopped in the car, I thought to myself “I should bring that Cal colored yarn I strung beads on last month for when I finish the Noro sock.” Did I? No. I thought about how much knitting was left on the Noro sock and I felt that should be plenty for the car ride. For once, I grossly underestimated how much knitting I had and how quickly I knit. So now I have these:

finished noro socks

And these:

little noro socks

I had maybe a dozen rounds on that sock before I started to decrease for the toe. Plenty of time left to knit tiny socks.

big and little noro socks

(Jessa asked if the Noro Silk Garden sock softened up after blocking. Yes! The yarn was a little hard (though not entirely unpleasant) on my fingers while I was knitting it up. Once they got a little water on them, the harshness went away.)

Tomorrow, Mr. Liu and I leave for Seattle. I’ve spent all week planning what knitting I’m going to bring. (Obsessed? I prefer exquisitely focused on a very narrow topic.) I had thought to bring the tan with the root beer colored beads, but I’m always a little paranoid that TSA will take my needles, so I like to bring the smallest ones possible. This is the yarn that won:

yarn pirate herron

This is the Yarn Pirate’s Herron that I scored from her sock yarn club last year. It’s an incredibly soft merino/ tencel. I’m going to knit it up into the Sunday Swing Socks from Knitty.com. I figure the odd k2tog and YO will keep me awake.

Hopefully I’ll have a good bit of knitting to show when we get back!

About mesha

Hi! I love cats and I love yarn. Knitting and kitties are two of my favorite things!
This entry was posted in FO, WIP, Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Over Estimate, Under Estimate

  1. jessa says:

    Those socks turned out great! Both pairs are at LEAST fraternal twins, which is especially impressive considering how much color variation there can be in one ball of noro yarn. Have a great trip to Seattle, the weather’s great up here this weekend!

  2. Pingback: New Socks « Knitting & Kitties

Leave a Reply

