Dishcloth Mania

I know I haven’t been blogging a lot lately. It’s not because I haven’t been knitting. I have. A lot. It’s because what I’ve been knitting hasn’t been terribly interesting. This is what I’ve been working on for the last week:

dishcloths

Plain, boring, ordinary dishcloths. Not a cartoon outline as far as the eye can see. You see, Mr. Liu’s grandmother found out from Mr. Liu’s mother that I can knit up dishcloths (apparently, every woman in Mr. Liu’s family does dishes with these), and asked if I would hook her up. I agreed and asked what exactly she wanted. She just wanted the plain garter stitch ones in whatever colors I had in my stash. So that’s what I’ve been doing. I threw in the ribbed ones to keep myself from going absolutely nuts with all the garter stitch. (It’s amazing what the odd purl stitch can do for ones sanity.) I’m doing to knit up one more with either a bell or bird motif on it and send them on their way. I have become Mr. Liu’s official Family Dishcloth Knitter. 🙂

I had plans to start knitting up a beaded bag last night to get me out of the dishcloth funk. This is as far as I got:

 yarn and beads

You know how many beads are called for in the pattern? 660. Guess how many beads I have here? 655. I am five freaking beads short of being able to start. I cannot tell you how tempted I am to string on five pink beads (the only other beads I have), so I can just get going. Instead of giving in, I’ll wait until Tuesday when I can hit the store and get another packet of beads (of which I need five).

Stringing all these damn beads had better be worth the result.

About mesha

Hi! I love cats and I love yarn. Knitting and kitties are two of my favorite things!
This entry was posted in gift knitting, WIP. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dishcloth Mania

  1. Christine says:

    Wow…really impressive that you counted the beads! I am so fly by the seat of my pants, I would have been like, “eh, that looks like about 660 beads…” Then I would have been crying when I came up short, of course… 🙂

Leave a Reply

