A Late Gift

Apparently, I haven’t quite gotten all my birthday gifts yet.

Mr. Liu’s mama called and said that she wanted to take me yarn shopping for my birthday. Mr. Liu told her I’d like that as a gift and we’re set up to go next Sunday. While the idea of running loose in a yarn shop with someone else footing the bill is enough to make me a bit woozy with possibilities, I want Mr. Liu’s mama to be able to retire some day and continue to like me. (It would be terrible for Darkness and Kali if their kitty mama didn’t get along with their kitty grandmama!) In order to curb any insanity, I decided to pick out a pattern for her to purchase yarn for. This is the one I’ve decided on:

lace kimono front  lace kimono back

The the Cables and Lace Kimono Wrapfrom sweaterbabe. Ambitious for someone who didn’t even want to knit sleeves for her first grown-folks sized item, isn’t it? Who doesn’t love a challenge? 

The pattern itself doesn’t look hard and I’m confident that I can knit it, but I worry a bit in the finishing department. We all remember the craziness that stemed from putting the freaking sleeve on that baby hoodie, don’t we? Let’s hope I don’t revisit that place.

Anyway, I was wondering what color ya’ll thought I should knit it up in. I kind of like the soft gray that’s pictured, but I’ve been told that my wordrobe is a bit heavy on the nutrals. What do you think?

I’m pretty excited to get the yarn and start on this project. Kali has the perfect shoes for it:

kali with shoe

About mesha

Hi! I love cats and I love yarn. Knitting and kitties are two of my favorite things!
This entry was posted in cats, Future Projects, Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Late Gift

  1. jessa says:

    Are you going to use the classic elite princess that the pattern suggests? If so I say any of the colors on the second color board (just clicking on the yarn link) would look great on you and be perfect for autumn which is probably the time you’ll have this thing done by. With your skin tone, I bet you’d look great in a nice burgundy or ocher color. A leafy green color would be great too if you’re thinking this is going to end up being ready for spring, like the second from the right on color board 4.

    Then again, I’m all about the neutrals too and if you go with a grey you can wear a bright cami underneath it.

  2. Christine says:

    If your wardrobe is heavy in neutrals, why not knit it up in a color with a bit more kick to it? Would add a splash of color to what you already own! The grey would also be pretty – and versatile. Very sweet of your MIL….and you are showing admirable restraint! 🙂 (Happy belated birthday!!!)

Leave a Reply

