A Tale of Two Birthdays

Over the weekend, I celebrated two birthdays.

The first was America’s. She turned 233 on July 4th (but doesn’t look a day over 150!). I celebrated America’s birthday by enjoying these:

fireworks

(As they say on the Simpson’s “What better way to celebrate the birth of your country than by blowing up a small chunk of it?”)

The Liu household also celebrated the 4th by enjoying this:

Sonya-thomas

The annual Nathan’s Hot Dog Eating Contest at Coney Island. That, ladies and gentlemen, is Sonya “the Black Widow” Thomas, my favorite competitive eater. She currently holds the world oyster, cheesecake, fruit cake and a bunch of others. This year she placed 6th, eating 41 dogs and buns in 10 minutes (I think that’s the woman’s world record). She’s my favorite because she’s one of two ranking female eaters and because she has this adorable bounce when she eats.  Local boy Joey Chestnut three-peated the Mustard Belt this year with a world record 68 dogs and buns.

The other birthday that was celebrated this weekend was mine, on July 5th. I turned 30 (and don’t look a day over 21!). Mr. Liu’s gift to me was this:

sun bear  black lemur

Well, he didn’t exactly buy me a Sun Bear or a Black Blue Eyed lemur. We went to the Oakland zoo. I haven’t been since college. I love seeing all the animals. It was fun. No churros, though. That kind of sucked.

My gift to myself was this:

finished sizzle  finished sizzle 2  finished sizzle 3

Aw, yeah, I finished it! My very fist adult-sized item of clothing. It’s not too small either! It is a little wider in the midsection than I am, but I knit the size that fit my rack (which you can see by the flash off my beige bra, was still a near thing). Over all, I’m very happy with the way it turned out. Now, if only the weather would cooperate, I could wear it outside of the house. Maybe during summer.*

*Summer in the San Francisco Bay Area doesn’t start until mid-August and goes until October.

About mesha

Hi! I love cats and I love yarn. Knitting and kitties are two of my favorite things!
This entry was posted in FO. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Tale of Two Birthdays

  1. julie says:

    happy birthday & congrats on finishing the top! it looks great!

  2. Amy says:

    Aww, it’s so pretty, Meesh! Congrats on finishing the top!

Leave a Reply

