Yarn … Flat?

So, before I got sick, but after I got the cat’s treats, I got Mesha some treats. More yarn! (Lalalalala, I can’t hear you, lalalalala, I don’t already have enough yarn lalalalalala!)

K2tog was having a pre-inventory sale (trying to get rid of stuff so they wouldn’t have to count it). While I was there, I picked up this yarn:

sock flat   sock flat 2

It’s a sock flat by Conjoined Creations. I don’t know what the colorway is called, but I think it’s a happy autumn-y color. I need to find an autumn-y sock pattern to go with it. Suggestions are welcome!

 A sock flat (for those of you who don’t know) is a flat swatch of yarn that is machine knit and space dyed, so both halves knit up in the same color pattern when you start from the same spot (which is easier to do on a flat than from a variegated ball), so your socks are identical twins rather than fraternal. You knit with it straight from the flat, no ball winding required (which is kind of sad, because ball winders are all kinds of fun). I’ve always wanted to try knitting from a sock flat, so I was super excited to get my hands on one.

If you know me, you know the only time I leave the LYS with one item (you know, the one I went in there for) is when Mr. Liu is accompanying me. Since I was solo, I also brought home this:

new yarn May

I picked up the Panda Silk in Jade Tones and Kid Merino in New Blues. Hey, it was a sale. What did you want me to do? The Panda Silk will be added to my admittedly ridiculous collection of sock yarn. I’ve been having fantasies about knitting lace shawls lately, I think that’s what the Kid Merino is destined for. (You have those too, don’t you? It’s not just me?)

Darkness, is busy hiding his face in shame at how much yarn is in his house.

darkness grass

About mesha

Hi! I love cats and I love yarn. Knitting and kitties are two of my favorite things!
This entry was posted in cats, SEX, Stash, Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Yarn … Flat?

  1. julie says:

    wow, i’d never heard of a sock flat before, but that’s brilliant! now i want one. ^_^

  2. Amy says:

    I think I need a further explanation of a sock flat…I still don’t get it. 🙂

  3. Jessa says:

    I’ve never seen a sock flat! What a clever way to ensure non-fraternal sock twins!

Leave a Reply

