A Little Thing Called Stash

Over the weekend I organized my stash, meaning I tried to put things where I could in places I would remember I had originally put them. And get the yarn in the living room out of the living room. My stash started out looking like this:

stash-before

It’s hard to see, but there are three baskets of yarn, one box and several small bags of yarn. Of course, it’s in no particular order. Finding something specific was… difficult, to put it mildly. A trip to Ross, a few hours and two annoyed cats later, I had this:

stash-after

I’m up to four baskets and two bags of yarn, all neatly organized. The big basket in back is full of yarn that contains 50% or more acrylic content. The hard to access basket next to it has my non-sock yarn that is comprised of 59% or greater natural content. The black basket in front is 3/4 full of sock yarn. (Funny thing I realized while I was organizing my sock yarn – I love sock yarn and knitting socks, but socks are my least favorite item of clothing to wear. Go figure.) The blue basket has all of my in-progress items (minus the sock in my purse), yarn and patterns tagged for specific projects and yarn I have in great enough quantities to make something big. The big paper bag hold my FOs I don’t know what to do with, the little black bag has my Rocking Sock stuff in it and the brown bag on top has a bunch of random stuff I was too tired to put in it’s proper place (buttons, scrap book stuff, purse handles, etc.). The blue beach towel I use for blocking is Kali’s new favorite place to sit.

Right now my stash is obstructing our access to the closet that contains the vaccum (fortunately we only have a little area rug to vaccum), but that’s not my fault. Mr. Liu needs to get rid of those packing boxes from when we moved in (5 years ago!) so I can slide my stash over. Then maybe the rug will get cleanned more often.

In honor the great stash organization, I also updated the look of the blog. What do you think?

About mesha

Hi! I love cats and I love yarn. Knitting and kitties are two of my favorite things!
This entry was posted in Stash, Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Little Thing Called Stash

  1. Jessa says:

    Way to be productive! that’s quite the impressive stash, I must say. Mine consists of one basket of yarn and one bag full of needles… that’s not to say it won’t expand =)

  2. meshaliu says:

    I think it expands when you’re not looking. Sale yarn doesn’t help either. 🙂

Leave a Reply

