Fickleknittersayswhat?

What?

I remember quite clearly swearing off baby stuff for a while. Well that was before I saw this pattern from SockPixie. So cute. When I got to this part though:

flower-hat-21

I started to question the wisdom of starting this project. Each adorable little petal is knit separately and then joined together. Do you have any idea how many ends that leaves you to weave in? I mean, I get annoyed when I have to weave in more than two yarn ends. And this looks like a freaking jellyfish! Clearly, this project was putting my sanity in jeopardy.

However, I did prevail, and in time for my boss’ baby shower at work. In a month or so, this hat should be sitting atop the head of a brand new baby girl:

flower-hat-4   flower-hat-leaf

The hat is knit from Frog Tree cotton yarn, which should be good since the baby is due in June. Wool in the summer, even in the Bay Area, doesn’t seem terribly bright, ya know? Aren’t the leaves just darling?

Kali and Darkness were unimpressed when I showed them the leaves.

snuggle-2

About mesha

Hi! I love cats and I love yarn. Knitting and kitties are two of my favorite things!
This entry was posted in cats, Crazy-Making, FO, gift knitting, Project. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

