What I Did Instead of Knitting a Gauge Swatch

Over the weekend, instead of knitting my gauge swatch for my top, I knit a headband. I used the teal yarn of the same type that I will use on my top. I’m glad I knit the headband, because I learned a few things about the yarn I’m going to use:

1) This yarn is super splitty. No matter how simple the pattern, it can’t be mixed with complicated television. No Law & Order, just COPS.

2) When this yarn comes into contact with water, the color runs. Badly. Can this be stopped? Does vinegar really help yarn stay colorfast?

3) This yarn grows a bit after it comes into contact with water. I’m going to have to remember to block my gauge swatch.

4) After coming into contact with water, it took FOR-EV-ER to dry.  And this was an open pattern! That top is going to be pinned to our futon for a long while. I’ll have to look into cat-discouraging devices. I caught one of them chewing on a T pin. (I was so annoyed I didn’t think to take a picture.)

5) I don’t have enough T pins to block a whole top. Seriously, look at this:

blocking-headband   blocking-headband-2

Those are all my T pins. Every last one. For a headband! And I still got a slightly scalloped edge because there weren’t enough. Guess what I’m going to stalk up on?

The headband did turn rather nicely, if a little big (see lesson #3), if I do say so myself:

teal-headband  teal-headband-2

I used this Leftover Headband, but I increased the width by 4 stitches to give me a little more width. If I knit another one (which I will, if I have enough purple left over from the top), I’m going to use the provisional cast on and a three needle bind off to loop it. Seaming it was kind of a PITA.

Nice and wide and taming my ridiculous bangs. What more can a girl want?

About mesha

Hi! I love cats and I love yarn. Knitting and kitties are two of my favorite things!
This entry was posted in FO, Technique, Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What I Did Instead of Knitting a Gauge Swatch

  1. Jessa says:

    Way cute. I want one.

  2. Pingback: Another Day, Another Headband « Knitting & Kitties

Leave a Reply

