More Baby Stuff

In my effort to knit things for new babies before they actually arrive (it increases the odds of the kid wearing it), I finished up a couple of items for Mr. Liu’s two cousins.

For the cousin who had his baby at the end of March, it was a near thing. They had a little boy. He was a recipient of a bib that looks exactly like this one and this little blue hat:

ribbed-baby-hat-2

The hat is a simple 1×1 rib made from Lion Brand’s Baby Soft. No pattern, I just checked my gauge (I’m getting so much better at doing that) and knit in the round large enough for a 6 month old baby. ( you don’t have the Yarn Harlot’s book Knitting Rules, you should get it. It’s got a ton of handy charts -like the one that gives you approximations of how big around a 6 month old’s head it- and other knitting tips. I used it a lot.)

For the cousin who’s baby is still cooking, I almost didn’t get the gift there before the baby shower (which would have meant paying postage since Mr. Liu’s mother very kindly took the gift up to Washington for us). That baby, also a boy, will be getting this:

baby-bear-hat  baby-bear-hat-2  blue-stash-bib  bear-cloth

The bear hat was knit up in Catnap from Art Fibers. The hat is just a rolled edge stockinette hat with cute little ears attached to it. I’m going to see if there’s a way to knit those ears directly onto the hat. It would be a lot more stable than sewing them on, like I’m currently doing. You know, I haven’t been to Art Fibers in a while. Probably because I can barely afford to be in the same room with the yarn they sell there, much less purchase it. But it’s all one of a kind and beautiful, so it really makes you want to go in.

The bib is a total stash buster bib. I used up the last bit of Faded Denim I had and finished the bib off with a Cornflower I was hoping that I’d have enough of the striped yarn left to finish off the crumb-catching bit and just do the straps in the solid, but it wasn’t to be. I got really close though. After much soul-searching and asking Mr. Liu a dozen times if it looked stupid, I decided it was cute enough to have a baby spit all over it and off it went.

The teddy bear cloth is also made from Sugar ‘n’ Cream yarn in Softly Taupe. I actually made this cloth last July during a car trip (I made half a dozen cloths on that trip). I figured a baby would be a pretty good recipient for it.

One night, after Mr. Liu had gone to bed, I wanted to knit something small and cute, but I didn’t want to put a lot of effort into it or actually get up to get yarn, so I knit these since both the yarn and the pattern were within reach at the time (my friends can attest to the fact that there’s often yarn laying around the living room):

cal-baby-mits

Cal yarn baby mitts. I toyed with the idea of giving these to one of Mr. Liu’s cousins, but since they’re both Huskies, I didn’t think they’d be properly appreciative. So they sit in my finished objects bag and wait for a more appropriate recipient.

Then there’s my boss at work. She’s going out on maternity leave at the begining of May (which, since there are two people in my department, I’m a little terrified about). She’s having a girl, thank god. I simply couldn’t take any more blue. I needed a good color change. I’m knitting her a little baby hoodie made from Lion Brand’s Cupcake in Sugar Plum. I’m finished with the knitting, it just needs some seaming. Right now it’s sitting in a bag looking like this:

sweater-pieces

A hood, two sleeves, the back with two fronts, divided for the arm holes. Just waiting for assembly. I have a confession, though. I love knitting. Really, really love it. Finishing, not so much. I still kind of suck at seaming, especially garter stitch, and I really want this to not suck when I put it together and give it away. So I haven’t actually finished it yet. In fact, I’m procrastinating it so much I’ve made this since:

pink-bib1

Another bib in Rosewood. You know, normally I don’t like pink. At all, really. But I like this yarn. The colors remind me of ice cream. (Larry declined to model this for me. He said he’s not doing another bib until I put a sail boat on it or something.) I hate to say it, but out of the four bibs I’ve knit in the last couple of months, this one is the best. On the other three bibs, the increases all leaned right, which I finally noticed on the last one. On this one when I increase right, they lean right, when I increased left, they leaned left. Such a little thing that makes such a difference.

Shoot, I’m out of baby stuff to blog. Now how am I going to put off seaming that hoodie?

About mesha

Hi! I love cats and I love yarn. Knitting and kitties are two of my favorite things!
This entry was posted in FO, gift knitting, WIP, Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More Baby Stuff

  1. Jessa says:

    My cousin is having a baby girl (!) this month so I have some little tiny pink knitting to do! That ear hat is adorable.

  2. meshaliu says:

    If you’d like the pattern, I can send it to you. It’s really easy to put together.

Leave a Reply

