My First Adult-Sized Non-Accessory Knitted Item

I’ve picked out what I’d like to be my first adult-sized knitted item of clothing. It’s the Sizzle tank from the Knit and Tonic blog. While I’m sure I could figure out sleeves without too much issue, I figured why stress myself out on my first large item. All that shaping is already daunting.

redsilkshell_2

(Photo from Knit and Tonic blog)

Since it’s a sleevless top, I’d like to make it out of a lightweight yarn. Maybe bamboo or a cotton blend. Silk would be nice, but I’m not sure I can afford that. What I really need your advice on, though, is what color. I’m going to go out and buy yarn especially for this project. (Partly because my stash mostly contains enough yarn in the same colors for hats, scarves and socks, but mostly because I want to go to the yarn store and I have coupon I need to use.) My insinct is to make it black (which I still may if I find a sparkly black – yeah, I know, I’m a magpie), but the vast majority of my wardrobe is black and gray. It seems obvious. I don’t want to make it red, even though the color looks pretty good on me, I get a lot of crap at work when I wear red (it’s the color of the 49ers and Stanfurd). So what do you think? Blue? Green? Purple? Cream? Teal?

About mesha

Hi! I love cats and I love yarn. Knitting and kitties are two of my favorite things!
This entry was posted in Stash, Uncategorized, Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My First Adult-Sized Non-Accessory Knitted Item

  1. Jessa says:

    Do a nice purple. Stay away from the neutrals and black!

  2. julie says:

    i vote for purple as well!

Leave a Reply

