Things I Would Have Blogged If I Hadn’t Lost My Camera Cord Part III: Toys

While enjoying the sight of Hines Ward’s smile and Troy Polamalu’s flying hair (i.e. watching the Superbowl), I knit up a couple of little toys for Mr. Liu’s nephew (he turned two last Wednesday). I knit a little skunk and a little calico cat from one of Lion Brand’s free patterns with their Fun Fur (and I have the fly-aways all over my sofa to prove it). I’ve named them Pepe and Callie, after our in-house case of forbidden love. Here they are:

 skunk-and-cat-2 

And their close-ups:

skunk-face     cat-face-2

Both have eyes stitched in a smoother yarn (I think I used the Caron’s Simply Soft) and the same for Callie’s little smile. She’s also got felt ears which were kind of a pain in the ass to put on. (Let it be known, that I’m not much of a seamstress.) I trimmed down the fur surrounding their faces so that you can seem them better, which I should have done before I stitched on their faces, it would have been much easier. Ah, well. Live and learn.

I think they turned out pretty cute. I haven’t gotten word back on if Mr. Liu’s nephew liked them, ignored them for Play-dough with them or what. All I’ve heard is he cried when he had to come inside to open presents (I don’t think he’s got the present thing figured out yet).

About mesha

Hi! I love cats and I love yarn. Knitting and kitties are two of my favorite things!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

