Too Relaxed Knitting

Remember the beautiful blue Crystal Palace Maizy I bought before my Hawaiian getaway? With which I had planed to make a fairly simple pair of socks? Yeah, that didn’t go so well.

oversized-hawaii-sock

I don’t know what it is about knitting socks, but for some reason until I turn the heel I can’t tell (or won’t admit, more likely) that the leg of the sock is way too big. I mean, look at it. It’s ridiculous. I’m blaming a combination of my overly relaxed state and trying to keep a loose hold on the yarn because of the elastic nylon in it. I wanted the sock to have some stretch to it still after it was a sock. I think I relaxed my pull a bit much. When I finally came to terms with this socks failure to fit a human leg (unfortunately, I don’t know any professional cyclists with massive calves I could have give it to), I started back up on the waffle stitch sock.

turned-heel-waffle-sock

I managed to get the heel turned on it. Note how it looks like it will fit an average human calf. (I mean, really, is it asking that much?) With what I’ve learned from the Cal monkey socks, I know I need to finish this guy and start it’s mate ASAP. I will not have another pair of sibling socks.

Oh, and I did celebrate on Inauguration Day:

american-passtime

Nothing says “I love America” like a cold Sam Adams and American Stripes yarn.

About mesha

Hi! I love cats and I love yarn. Knitting and kitties are two of my favorite things!
This entry was posted in WIP. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Too Relaxed Knitting

  1. Jessa says:

    don’t take this the wrong way, but i LOLed when I saw that first sock. it’s like a specialty sock for a large diabetic man. very pretty yarn though, and you’re still far superior to me because i’m terrified of knitting socks!

  2. meshaliu says:

    Crazy, isn’t it? A normal person would totally be able to see that this ain’t working loooong before they got to the heel. Me, not so much.

Leave a Reply

