I can’t freaking believe it

I forgot my knitting at home!

I finished the basket weave scarf last night (it’s lovely, I’ll post photos when I get some decent light) and cast on for the hat. (I hate casting on in public, it’s so awkward. Of course, all my late night cast on was all for naught when I realized upon waking that 18 stitches = 4 inches will make the hat bigger than the 20 stitches = 4 inches gauge the pattern specified. Stupid gauge.)

What the hell am I supposed to do with my hands on the bus ride home? Hmmm? I can’t read, since my book is in my knitting bag. My mp3 player is dead, so music is out and wouldn’t help all that much any way. I get antsy with idle hands. I actually caught myself making knitting motions when I was yarnless and waiting for Mr. Liu to get out of work last. It kind of freaked me out.

Part of me is trying to convince the rest of me that going over to the Borders and buying the 101 One-Skein Wonders kit is a totally good idea (comes with a book of patterns, yarn, needles and a darning needle). Another part of me is arguing with the first part that a trip to Michael’s and a quick yarn and needle purchase is actually the best way to handle this situation, since a trip to the bookstore will likely result in purchasing books, this way will be cheaper. Besides, Michael’s might have sale yarn. The third (rational) part of me is screaming at the other two to shut the hell up because they’re making it worse and that I’m perfectly capable of sitting on the bus for 20 minutes with no entertainment.

I know the third (rational) voice is the one I should listen to. I know I have plenty of yarn, pattern books and needles at home. I know the third (rational) voice is the one I should side with and tell the other two voices to shut the hell up. I know, I know, I know.

But the second voice said “sale yarn.” I don’t think I’m strong enough to resist those words.

About mesha

Hi! I love cats and I love yarn. Knitting and kitties are two of my favorite things!
This entry was posted in FO, gift knitting, WIP, Yarn, yarnless. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I can’t freaking believe it

  1. Brooke says:

    So, I’m thinking of taking a knitting class. There’s a free one at a community center down the road. It says beginners AND advanced, which freaks me out a little, but it’s a start, right?

    P.S. You’ve been tagged. Blame BunnyBean ;-).

  2. meshaliu says:

    Oh, I’m tagged! I feel so special!

    You should take the class! Knitting shouldn’t freak you out! It’s fun and pretty easy. In a beginner’s class you’d walk out knowing enough to make a scarf, blanket, anything flat pretty much. It’s that easy.

Leave a Reply

