FO’s Flying Around the House

I’ve been knitting, I just haven’t been blogging. Football sucks up a lot of a sistah’s weekends, ya know. Anyway, here are a couple of the projects I’ve recently finished.

One of my co-worker’s has a 3 year old in ballet and tap. This darling little girl has a pink crocheted snood for her bun, which she thinks makes her very ballerina-esque. My coworker asked if I could knit one in another color for her daughter. I found a the pattern on Lion Brand’s website and I think they turned out well:

 

The finished products have little pink bows to cinch them around her little bun. The hole in the middle had me unconvinced that it would actually hold the girl’s hair all in place, so I tried it on. Since it worked okay on me, I gave them to my co-worker. Apparently, the pink ribbon is what really sold it to the little girl. Knitting it up was kind of strange since I had to use giant needles.

These are US 17 needles. Using them is like trying to knit with branches. I had to keep one balanced on my leg at all times in order to maintain stability. These suckers are totally going in my Anti-Vampire kit. I certain I can use them as wooden stakes. Scary part is, the pattern really called for US 19 needles. The 17s are as big as I own and I decided that they were plenty big enough to get the job done. All together, it took me maybe 10 minutes to knit up one snood and I used almost no yarn (a total scrap yarn project), but the crocheted one my co-worker bought cost her $6.00. I am so in the wrong business.

I also knit up a matching hat to go with the sampler scarf:

The hat’s kind of an odd pattern. You knit a big rectangle, seam the ends and make a tube and then attach the opposite corners, so you end up with a pointy kind of hat. The hat was frustrating, though. When I started seaming it, I ran out of yarn. Seriously, I needed maybe six more inches to finish it up, but noooo, I had to knit the scarf first! Ugh, I spent a lot of time at Joan’s with Mr. Liu trying to match that yarn. He repeatedly asked me if I was sure I didn’t have more yarn that color in my stash and shouldn’t I check there first. Baby, I love you, but I know exactly what’s in my stash. Even the old stuff, even the stuff your mom gave me with no labels. I know it’s 3 baskets worth of yarn, but I put all that yarn in those baskets. You’re going to have to trust me on this.

And just to prove that I can crochet a little:

      

Two purple crocheted flowers that look different despite the fact that I used the same pattern, yarn and hook for both. I have two sets of instructions and they both tell me how to single crochet differently. I think I used a different stitch that something, somewhere decreed was a single crochet. I’m not sure what I’m going to do with them right now, but they’ll probably end up on a hat or purse at some point.

About mesha

Hi! I love cats and I love yarn. Knitting and kitties are two of my favorite things!
This entry was posted in FO, WIP. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

