Clutch Purse

I finished off the knitting for a clutch purse, one of my xmas knits. The pattern is from my favorite knitting magazine evah, Simply Knitting. The pattern is stupid easy, but made enjoyable by the yarn used. It was Alchemy “Yarns of Transformation” color: Hummingbird. 30% silk, 70% wool, single ply. It was a joy to work with. I still have some left. I’m hoping I have enough for a hat still.

One of the reasons Simply Knitting is my favorite magazine evah, is because ever issue comes with something sweet (besides Alan Dart’s toy patterns). This issue came with the clasp for the clutch I’m making.

Seriously, what’s not to love? The purse still needs to be lined, which is the tricky bit. Right now I’m leaning towards a black lining, because it would be simple and definitely match. Matching, practical and lazy. What’s not to love.

Cal football started this past Saturday (Go Bears!), which inspired me to pick up my Cal colored monkey socks. The first sock is nearly done and totally fits.

      

(These are terrible pictures to show the pattern and still the best I got. Either I am a terrible photographer or my camera is sub-par. It could really go either way.) I was a little worried while knitting the gusset that the sock wouldn’t fit. I’m so used to knitting little kid socks that I kept looking at it and thinking there was no way that was going to come out right. But, it did. Yay!

Also, Darkness is no worse for the wear. He’s home  and a bit pissy that he’s on special food, but otherwise happy. Oh, and his legs are naked.

If it wasn’t so hot outside, I’d knit him leg warmers. He seems kind of ashamed of his bare legs and runs off if you touch them. I think Darkness is secretly glad that he’s got a little less fur since we don’t have AC  to keep him cool.

About mesha

Hi! I love cats and I love yarn. Knitting and kitties are two of my favorite things!
This entry was posted in cats, gift knitting, WIP. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Clutch Purse

  1. jessa says:

    the idea of kitty leg warmers set me LOLing

Leave a Reply

