The Secret Life of a Process Knitter

I’m a process knitter. I knit because I enjoy the act of knitting. Completed projects are just lovely little bonuses. I’ve heard it said that product knitters (those who knit for the finished object) are the major gift knitters. I don’t think that’s true. Gift knitting gives me an excuseto knit. Also, it forces me to complete stuff occasionally, which keeps Mr. Liu off my back. He likes to see yarn come in to the house and, eventually, go back out. If he knit (ha!), he’d be a product knitter.

Since I am a process knitter, though, UFOs (unfinished objects) are always floating around my house. Having a stack of half-completed projects doesn’t really bother me, other than having to go out and buy new needles since my US 2 dpns are still in a sock. (Seriously, you have no idea how many sock needles I have.)

Some of the UFOs I currently have on the needles are:

 My Cal colored (Go Bears!) Monkey Socks from Knitty. They’re a nifty lace pattern that’s interesting to knit. I was almost finished with one sock when something slipped and it unraveld at the heel. So I started over. Now only the cuff and one repeat are done. I don’t think I’ve picked them up in about four months. Football season starts at the end of the month, though, so I had better get a move on if I want to wear them at any of the games.

 These are the waffle patterned socksthat I started for a trip to Las Vegas when I decided that pattern for the Monkey Socks would keep me from talking to my friends on the flight. Simple enough pattern that I only had to pay a little attention to what I was doing. The cuff and the leg, all done. Just need to turn the heel. I should put these in my bag and make them my current knitting-on-th-go project. Hmmmm…..

My branching outscarf is almost done. One more ball of yarn and it’ll go where all FOs live… a shelf in the closet until I can figure out something to do with it. Maybe one of my gift scarves?

 This is a cat bed from one of those “Knit This” kits. Sad part about this is, the knitting’s done. I just have to finish the seaming. I really, really, really hate seaming, though, so into the UFO pile it went. Besides, my cats have a habit of sitting directly next to the mat I bought for them to sit on. I’m not sure how much use it would get.

 These are pink fluffy slippers from a “Knit This” kit. I hate pink. Anyone will tell you that I hate pink. But, I wanted the pattern. A lot. As you can see, I haven’t even covered the first slipper, much less gotten to the fluffy bit. I hope they turn out well enough to give to someone with more tolerance for the color pink than I have.

 This is a Panda Ski Mask. This project is my current knitting headache. Knitting lace was a simple distraction from this thing. However, it’s for a friend and she’s really entertained by the idea. More on the current bane of my existence later.

I’ve got other UFOs hiding out around my yarn baskets, this is just what was on top. I have a blue baby sock with no mate, most of a baby blanket, several cat toys in various states of completion. I like having several projects going at one time. If I’m in the mood for lace, I’ve got that. If I just want to veg out, I’ve got that. If I want something with quick gratification, I’ve got that. If I want something that’ll make me tear my hair out, hey, I’ve got that too.

About mesha

Hi! I love cats and I love yarn. Knitting and kitties are two of my favorite things!
This entry was posted in gift knitting, UFO, WIP and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

